No, I have not given up.

After I stopped doing Whole 30, I had a couple of rough days. A few days ago, I ate 3/4 of a 9 inch pumpkin pie for lunch. By myself. Along with a piece of pizza, a lunchmeat sandwich, and two apples. And for the first time in over two weeks, I finally felt full. I was stuffed. And afterward, I felt just a little guilty. I felt awful like an hour later from all that food finally hitting my stomach. But at least I was full for once.

Or so I tried to convince myself.

Sunday, I was riddled with shame. And for those of you who don’t know, shame is not the same as guilt. Guilt is something you feel about something you’ve done. Shame is something you feel about who you are. I was sick to my stomach, but not from anything I’d eaten. Here I am, preaching about gluttony and how bad it is. But I was nothing more than a hypocrite.

That night, I decided to do something about it.

My mom, sister, and a few of my friends from back home were starting a challenge called the “Healthy Habits Challenge,” which, as you may have guessed, focusses on forming habits that support a healthy lifestyle. It’s a reward only system, so if you give in to something, there is no punishment (except maybe disappointment). And we’ve done this before, too, so it’s not anything new for me. It started Monday, October 12th, and ends November 30th. My goal is to lose at least 5 pounds and be able to do at least 3 pull-ups in a row. Right now I can’t do any, so I will definitely have to work hard to get to 3 in a row.

Tuesday, which I guess was only yesterday (feels like so long ago), I did not do well at all. I ate a lot of food in general, but most of it was junk. So that was a bummer. And I didn’t really workout either. Double bummer.

Today, however, was fantastic. I’ve done almost two hours worth of exercising. All different kinds, and not all at once, mind you. And I ate lots of veggies. And I drank a LOT of water. I’ve already lost at least half a pound since starting. I am so psyched! Now I just need to find a way to stay on track, as I have a tendency to go on and off a lot (as you may have noticed). It helps a lot that there’s more than one other person doing this, and that many of them are as pumped up as I am.

I think it just goes to show that the right support group goes a long way. That, and an end goal. If you’re lucky enough to find both, you’re golden.

This entry was posted in DemonsOnMyShoulder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

