“The god of millions” and me.

“One of the greatest sins of the Unites States is gluttony. Food has become the god of millions.” These are the words of Pastors Bud and Betty Miller in their What the Bible Says about Gluttony. And I couldn’t agree more.

I, too, struggle with food. And it seems to just keep getting worse. Every time I try to cut back, my body rebels and ends up just wanting more. It’s this vicious cycle that I can’t seem to break. Just last night I polished off a new bag of chips by myself. And it wasn’t that I was hungry. I was watching a movie and just felt I needed something to munch on. Like that, most of what I eat, I eat mindlessly. I don’t need it. Most of the time I don’t even really want it either. It’s just there. Or I eat because I think I’ll get hungry later and won’t get a chance to get food, like when I work 8-hour shifts.

So to make myself more aware of what I’m eating, my friend and I are doing a diet called Whole 30. For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s no sugar, grains, legumes, dairy, MSG, carrageenan, or sulfites for thirty days. There’s also no alcohol or tobacco products, but I personally don’t do either of those things, so it’s not that big a deal to me.

The first day didn’t go as planned. I played frisbee with a group of friends, but forgot my water bottle. The only thing to drink was Gatorade, which not surprisingly, and I didn’t remember this until after I had already had some, has sugar in it. So, I had to “officially” officially start the next day.

This entry was posted in DemonsOnMyShoulder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

